Dear Matriculants of 2013

10 years ago I was an 18 year matriculant working in a coffee shop as a waitress without a lot of resources. I had to find a job the old fashioned way – buying the paper and FAXING my one pager resume. I didn’t know how to use a computer, I didn’t know what Youtube was and I was blissfully unaware of what happened on the internet. Twitter and Facebook didn’t exist and I lost contact with most of my friends.

Today, you can pretty much become famous with one good video. You can get “discovered” on Youtube, do free online courses, apply for a multitude of scholarships, spend R30 at Pep and stand a chance to win R50 000 in tuition fees, blog, intern and do all of this while you’re still under your parents’ roof. Things seem so much easier now as I’m sure the generations before mine felt about my generation.

The fact is simply this: THE WORLD IS YOUR OYSTER My friend finished University and straight afterwards ventured overseas without a job or a place to stay. She ended up in a backpackers hostel and meeting a whole bunch of awesome people. She ended up having the time of her life and she fell in love with England – a place that was a big, scary unknown upon first impression. She worked as a carer for an elderly man who she grew very fond of and she managed to find her passion – writing. Today she’s on the verge of blowing up – watch this space!

I hated our head girl (missy prissy) but one thing I am very thankful for is her last speech. She said “Everything has a way of working out for the best” and truer words have not been spoken. Whenever it got really bad for me, I always remembered her speech and, yes, things didn’t always work out the way I wanted it to, but they always worked out for the best.

So, take advantage of the resources you have to your aid, take risks, educate yourself, find your passions and enjoy the rest of your teens, because if you fall, you have all of your 20’s to build a career and the “I’m only young once” excuse.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Dear Matriculants of 2013

  1. Life after school is indeed hard, but would you prefer it any other way? I wouldn’t, it’s the thrill of a lifetime!

    So far, for me, life after school is like jumping out of an airplane in pitch darkness, with sunglasses and miraculously a parachute opens just before I’m about to smash into the ground and then magically the sun rises again … then rinse and repeat and believe that things will work out in the end.

Leave a Reply

