I got Essence bombed

It took some convincing for me to latch onto the Essence phenomenon. I don’t usually go with the status quo but there’s no denying that Essence is a serious player in the cosmetics market. What I love most about them (and what keeps me glued to Hey Gorgeous too) is the constant reinvention and new products that seem to pop up every time that I gawk at the Essence shelf in Clicks.

I recently got gifted at the Cape Town Bloggers meet and by my “bride to be friend” with a bunch of cute Essence goodies that I was eying, but wouldn’t have bought myself. Not for want of intrigue, but more because I was on a serious spending hiatus.

Currently, my arsenal of Essence products consists of:

CAM00003~2

1. Essence – Stay with me in I like Cotton Candy

There was a little bit of a mix up with my RubyBox order in December and to make up for the long wait, the lovelies sent me a little baggie of goodies AND a handwritten note from Kathleen Scaglia. Amongst the goodies was a Stay with me lip gloss. This little treasure isn’t sticky and the colour really does stay longer than the usual gloss. The colour is gorgeous and I can’t wait to try the others in this range too. This fun gloss is a must in any handbag.

2. 3D eye shadow

To be honest, I haven’t tried this yet (sacrilege I know) but eye shadow is one of those things I put on when I absolutely have to. I’m guessing my girl card is being revoked now. The one thing that really stands out for me… literally, is the dark blue shade… it actually stands out – like 3D. I’m not quite sure if there’s a reason behind the 3D effect or if it’s just for show – I’ll have to check out a few tutorials to get my facts straight.

3. Essence XXXL shine lip gloss

I love a good lippie – in fact, I’m currently rocking 4 different ones in my handbag plus another 5 on standby. The Essence pink XXXL Shine lippie is so much fun. It looks fun, it smells fun and it makes me feel like I’m 6 years old again, playing with my Tinkerbell cosmetics. I hate stickiness in lip gloss and won’t think twice about chucking a R100 lippie out if it makes my kakebene lam coz my lips are sticking together, but here I don’t have this problem. I would honestly recommend this lippie to any girl who wants something to keep in her purse for when the hot Wakkaberry guy rings up her order (lols)

4. Essence Long Last retractable eye liner in Black

I fell in love with Avon’s Glimmer stick – it made me think “I’ve been sharpening pencils all this time?”. I’m never going back to sharpening pencils again – ever.

The problem with the Glimmer stick was that it was slightly expensive and doesn’t have a very long life. I thought I would be summoned back to my medieval pencil eyeliner until my bride to be friend gifted me with an Essence retractable eye liner. At only R19 at Clicks I don’t ever have to go back to splinters in my eyes. In fact, I even prefer the Essence one to the Avon because it lasts much longer and doesn’t smudge!

5. Quattro Eye shadow

I got this jewel from Lisa Jade in the delish box she sent me. It is truly a low maintenance gal’s best friend. The only thing you have to think about is the type of “look” you want. The colours are so different but they complement each other so brilliantly. In my opinion, it is the perfect handbag companion for the girl on the move. You don’t have time? No problem! The Quattro is all you need to create the look you want… on the move!

6. Essence Color and Go nail polishes

Here I have some mixed feelings. I love the colours of the nail polishes – I like them all. As far as quality is concerned, I found a little inconsistency:

That’s what I mint

My love for this colour was inspired by Ordinary Misfit (a nail art genius). I saw a post of hers and then I was off to buy my own – Essence… please take note. As soon as I got home I started playing with my new colour, but I soon shoved it aside when my nails took 2 decades to dry and for the rest of the day I picked up some chips that made it impossible to pull it off.

Nude

I got this one from the Bloggers meet. This one was thinner and took 2 coats for me to properly see the colour (which isn’t bad). It dried quicker and lasted much longer. Get the most out of the colour with a super base coat and top coat and you’re set to go for the rest of the week.

Space queen

Lisa Jade gave me this one. This clear pinkish colour with the added “wow” factor of glitter is definitely my favorite in my nail polish cavalry. Try two to three coats for a fun gel-like look or use as a top coat to create a totally different colour.

My overall experience with the products is simply FANTASTIC. Initially, my Essence abstinence was fuelled by its appeal to the Teen(y) market as opposed to the (late) 20 something year old customer. There was, however, a part of me that wanted to take part in the Essence revolution. It was only after I read reviews by women my age and older that it occurred to me that it’s only make up, darn it! Not Mickey Mouse accessories. We always take ourselves so seriously, so it’s nice to have a brand like Essence that puts a smile on your face when you get ready for work in the mornings.

PS… whatcha think of my totally self -made magazine looky-liky pic?

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “I got Essence bombed

    • Thank you for the comment. I’ve heard after my post that there was a little bit of an issue with the “That’s what I mint” colour. But that the ones that came out after mine was perfectly fine. So I’ll definitely be going out to buy a new one.

Leave a Reply

