South African blogs – make it big

If Twitter is any indication, the “successful blogs” topic is a hot one at the moment. But, what would you consider to be a “successful blog”?

giphyMost people connect “success” to “profit making” and if this is why you started a blog, then you have to start thinking of your blog as a business. If this is you, the best way to learn is to watch the pros and if you’re in South Africa, it’s wise to start looking for mentors at home.

You don’t have to look very hard to find some good quality South African Bloggers either. SA’s blogging trends are leaning towards the likes of Chicara (Lipgloss kisses), Luzanne (Pink Peonies), Irina (I’ll take it all), Glam Green Girl, Naeema (The Jam Jar), Charlene (Gee Whiskers), Bronwyn Hoedemaker (Mother City Mom), Laura Jane (Whimsy is forever) and many more young, energetic and fresh bloggers. These ladies have taken blogging to a whole new level and even if they’re not currently earning money from their sites, they’re definitely on their way to doing so.

rockOn the other side of the blogging spectrum, bloggers like Sandile Nene, Leigh V D Berg, Anja Van der Spuy, Brett Robson and Bangers and Nash are very well known – there’s not a beauty person in SA who doesn’t know Leigh or a lifestyle blogger who doesn’t know Sandile and if you don’t know who Anja and Brett are – J’accuse!!! If you’re not already following them, you should definitely check them out. If nothing else, their posts WILL entertain you and you’ll get to learn a lot more about blogging and how to do it.

admirationIn a different place in the bloggersphere are bloggers like Heather De Bruin (Femme Lifestyle), Rushda (Rube’s Closet), Jennifer Moss (Pinkerjen), Coral (Cupcakemummy), Namreen (Life and times of fireflies), Charlene (Pretty Please Charlie), Michelle Roberts (Ordinary Misfit), Lisa-Jade (Life like Mine), Lauren Groenewald (Lipglossed Ninja), Lydia (GreenLydia) and others, who, with their own impressive following, are doing things their way. They have found their niche and people respond positively to this. A good example would be Jennifer’s funny vlogs and just in general, her awesome personality and how she loves beauty products. Michelle has the talent of transforming nails into works of art.

well doneIt’s important to note that, at least from an “outsider’s point of view”, all these blogs are successful. They all engage their audience, have found their niche and post regularly.

Every blogger has something special to offer and each of them has the potential to “make it big”. The definition of “Making it big”, however, depends on each of the bloggers. Too much focus is on “fame and fortune” and too little focus on the “why do you blog” part. When blogging becomes a chore or “not that much fun anymore”, you might want to rethink your definition of “making it big”.

Why do you blog?

Enhanced by Zemanta
19 thoughts on “South African blogs – make it big

  1. First of all, thank you SO SO SO much for the mention. You have no idea how much it means to me coming from you AND to be in a post with such talent. I hardly feel worthy! Thank you SO much!!

    Secondly, LOVE THIS POST! Excuse me if I go on a bit of a rant but I think this is a great topic and I might have to release my thought on this. Sorry!

    For ME, success isn’t just numbers, stats, followers and freebies. For ME, success means I am doing what I want to do it, how I want to do it, about what I want to do it. And that every day I am doing it a little better than the day before. For ME, success means that someone is inspired by something they read on my blog (or saw mostly in my case :P), that someone asks ME for advise. For ME, success means that I am proud of what I have done. For ME, being successful means being consistent, being honest, being true to yourself. Things that are important to me are staying humble, no matter how many followers you have. (You never really are as important as you think you are) Being respectful to other people and other bloggers. Being someone that others would LIKE to associate with (because of who I am and not how many followers I have or what I got for free).

    I adore blogging and I love what I do. It’s the only reason why I do it. I agree with you. some people lose focus on WHY they started doing it. I have hardly been offered to review products (I have but not often) and I certainly don’t get stuff sent to me. And that is absolutely fine with me. It is NOT why I do it. Would I like that stuff? Yes of course. Do I need it? Absolutely not. It doesn’t make me a better or bigger blogger. I also think it is absolutely disgusting when someone looks down on someone else because they are a ‘bigger’ blogger because of followers etc. DISGUSTING!

    So, based on my little rant, thank you SO much for mentioning me in your post. It really means so so much. For all the reasons above. For what it’s worth, I love your blog and think you’re epic too!! xx

  2. Thank you so very much for the mention. I truly feel so very honoured and am truly touched by your kind words.

  3. Awesome post Leana! I blog because i like to, not because I Will receive anything out of it, it’s mainly coz I love to. Yes I do reach out to other bloggers for inspiration and admire most if not all those mentioned in the post, you included 🙂 yes I do love seeing a new like, comment, follow on my blog and receiving products which I love ( happens once in a blue moon) but my main focus is doing what I love and enjoying the fact that readers out there enjoy too 😉

    Great post once again Lee

    Hugs xxx

  4. So incredibly touched you took the time to not only mention me, but my crazy videos too! Putting out content you are proud of is a double edged sword, as you are so proud of what you’ve done, yet sometimes feel that no one is watching. Knowing that we have cheerleaders like you makes it all worth it!

    Plus you, my dear, are a pretty kick ass blogger yourself. Pinkerjen approved 🙂

  5. This has to be one of my favourite posts ever because I love the bloggers mentioned above. They are really good and special in their own way. It is so refreshing to see blogs that are unique and not doing the same things as others. I ♡ SA bloggers!

  6. Great post, as always 🙂

    The reason I blog is just to get the voices in my head out most of the time. I love getting free things (as I am sure most people do) but I dont do it for that at all. I love having my own little space that I can make mine and inform people about random things, share the pictures I take about random things too!

    Keep up the great work Leana, your blog is def one of my favs too 🙂

  7. Thank you for mentioning my bestie, Leigh. She works really hard at what she does, is my blogging inspiration and paved my way onto the social scene. She drives me nuts sometimes but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Cxxx

  8. I starting my blog as a way to promote my business, but it has turned into more of a lifestyle blog where I just write about everything. I hardly ever get free stuff and I don’t have sponsorships, so it’s definitely not profitable for me. I think it’s going to be great to look back at when I’m older. I just like sharing things I like with people.

  9. Pingback: #ProjectFeelGood – end of Round 2 | Hipstyler, Pretty & Ginger

  10. Pingback: #PROJECTFEELGOOD – Round 5 wraps up | Hipstyler, Pretty & Ginger

Leave a Reply

