DIY – Easy peasy churro recipe… WITH NUTELLA (It’s really really easy)

You might not know this about me, but I’m part Mexican! Yes, that’s right! Part of me is Mexican and THAT part of me, is my imagination. I’ve NEVER been overseas, but I know that I want my first foreign visit to be in Mexico. Because …. TEQUILA?

Ever since I was 5 years old and my Mexican imagination kicked in, I thought that comfort food was automatically Mexican food… don’t ask… I don’t know why.

Laaater on I realised that I was an idiot, but I corrected by hunting down real Mexican food recipes and one of my favourites is the Churro Recipe.

A churro is almost a stick version of a round cinnamon doughnut… maybe a little chewier.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ tablespoons of white sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • Oil for deep frying
  • Nomu’s Sweet rub (Coz I’m lazy like that)

Method:

Whisk the 1 ½ tablespoons of white sugar, salt and the 2 tablespoons vegetable oil in a medium sized pot.  CAM00875

When it starts to boil, take it off the heat (oh yes – medium heat is good) and stir in the flour until it forms a ball. For this I like to use one of these flat spatula looking stuff type spoons (I got it as a house warming present once… frog knows what they are). CAM00876 CAM00877 CAM00878

Once this is done, wait for it to cool down a little.

Traditionally you use a piping bag with a wide nozzle to pipe out pretty little strips of the dough, but I’m lazy and also, I don’t have those fancy things. I resort to calling up “kindergarten play dough rolling skills” and I roll pieces of dough until they’re strippy. CAM00880

In another pot – heat enough oil so that you can deep fry these strips. If you have one of those fancy stoves that give you the exact heat of the plate – good of you… it should be on approximately 190⁰ Celcius. If you have a shitty stove like me, just put it on a high medium setting.

Now all you do is plop those doughy strips in the boiling oil until golden brown. CAM00883

Once they’re done, I like to sprinkle the Nomu sweet rub in a plastic bag, chuck the churros inside dan skud ek die lewende bollie uit die churros en “voila”! there you have authentic South African Mexican churros.

 

Notes:

Obviously, you can substitute the Nomu sweet rub with normal cinnamon and sugar, but I highly recommend you try it – at least once!

Then… because I have the bloody jar of Nutella… that haunts me so badly… I’m going to dip the churros in the Nutella.

So… this looks like a lot of work, but it’s actually only because there are a lot of words in this post. So read it first and then you’ll be fine!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 thoughts on “DIY – Easy peasy churro recipe… WITH NUTELLA (It’s really really easy)

Leave a Reply

