Tuesday 10’s – 10 things that make you South African

The other day on the radio, while I was driving home, they were talking about things that only happen in South Africa. This inspired me to come up with a few of my own “Unique to South Africa” things that I think you might like.

  1. You know that goose and cherry are synonyms for girl girl
  2. In every other English speaking country Carte Blanche means “free to do as you please”. In South Africa, it means “tomorrow is Monday”. carte blanche
  3. Ya means Yes
  4. Even though you don’t watch TV, you know that 7de Laan is not the name of a street.. 7delaan
  5. If you’re under 30, all you know is “Apartheid was bad” but you haven’t lived it…. EVERYBODY JUST KNOWS IT’S BAD.
  6. In any other country, the name “Leon Schuster” could be confused with some fancy dog breed… over here it’s an old white guy who manages to fool people with his kak disguises.

    English: Leon Schuster, South Africa 2001.

    English: Leon Schuster, South Africa 2001. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  7. “Bra” is better known for being the shortened version of “Bother” and not for being the shortened version of the lady helper, the “BrassiereFANTASY BRA
  8. Brandy and Coke is not the name of a woman and a drug. In fact, you call it “Brannas and coke” (Voms in hand) Humble_Brandy_and_coke
  9. When you hear “Mr. Price” you don’t think that it could be a math teacher or a partner of a firm… NO… you think “Oooh! A place where I can get my shop awn!”
  10. You know that Pap and Wors go together like Bacon and Eggs.

Despite what it might sound like, I’m very happy that I’m here. I might not be the typical Afrikaner girl (and have been complimented by an English lad once who said “You’re Afrikaans? You’re so eloquent … where’s your accent?”) but I love where I am and who I am. I wouldn’t have be the me that I am if I didn’t live here … so… THANK YOU SOUTH AFRICA!

heart signature

Leave a Reply

