How to: Get abs

abs challenge

I know a lot of people have been waiting on this post (judging only by the comments I got on my abs posts on Instagram).

Last year this time, I took the step to a more healthy lifestyle – cutting out carbs as far as possible and increasing my protein intake. But on my journey I’ve taken a couple of unnecessary detours because “I knew better”. I decided to take this step because a friend of mine was doing incredibly well on Herbalife. But I have this “Nah, I’ll do it my way” mentality and then I end up dwindling back to what I was told to do anyways.

HASHTAG REBEL!

For months I have been testing different brands of protein shakes but I always had a tub of Herbalife shake stashed somewhere for a rainy day. One day, when I finished another tub of my first choice of protein shake, I thought “screw this! I’m gonna finish my Herbalife shakes” (Which I had purchased ONLY in support of my friend who sells the products).

At the same time (more or less) my friend laid down the Abs challenge and I said… Challenge accepted

The challenge

And here’s the challenge: challenge

If you’re not familiar with the exercises … here you go

Plank, Crunches, Russian Twists, Lying Leg Raises, Bicycle Crunches, Mountain Climbers, Tiger Poses, Flutter Kicks, Leg Climb Crunches, V-ups, Oblique Crunches, Bird-Dogs.

We had to incorporate these exercises into your normal workout over a course of 4 weeks – it wasn’t clear as to how often a week you had to do them, but since the challenge, I made sure that I went to the gym at least 3 – 4 times a week.

The diet

I mentioned my protein shakes vs the Herbalife shakes. Now, I know there have been negative rumours about the company, but I’ll say this… the Herbalife products WORK! I replaced two meals a day with Herbalife shakes and for snacks, I stuck to fruit and yogurt and for dinner, I had whatever I wanted…. in moderation, of course. Stay away from excessive carbs. We need carbs from time to time, but try to stop after the first potato … MKay?

What really motivated me

I’m a bit of an insta-stalker and like to follow fitness profiles like @unifit_inspiration and other profiles that feature good bodies. But what I find most helpful is looking at pictures of people that I know. If you don’t have that someone on Facebook that you hate to look at … I suggest you find new frennemies.

Fit Santa’s little helpers

I’ve always been on fat burners – I use the Clicks brand called Epha-Cut and it does the job as well as any USN Phedra Cut can do (look at me… with the lingo and what not…) BUT in the “Week 1” Picture above, I was on Epha-cut AND another protein shake (which replaced 2 of my meals). My friend advised me to use Omega 3 and 6 supplements as well. Think of these supplements as the Tim Noakes of the Fitness industry. Also, it oils the joints and it helps with the fat burning process.

As you can see… this is not a cheap or easy thing to do, and I know, even as I’m really hoping to inspire you to do this, that only a hand few will actually follow through. And… it’s OK. But at least make the choice to lead a healthier lifestyle.

If you’d like to see inspiring Instagrams by Elizabeth Wilson, who made my abs happen, you can follow her @wilsonelizabeth on Instagram. I know she’ll inspire you to make a difference in your life. You can also contact her to purchase any Herbalife products (please mail me lhenke123(at)gmail.com).

4 thoughts on “How to: Get abs

Leave a Reply

